skip to main content

Monarch Awards

The Monarch Award: Illinois' K-3 Readers' Choice Award. 

Bluestem Award Book Titles

The award is designed for students in grades 3-5 who are ready for longer titles than found on the Monarch list, but not quite ready for the sophistication of some of the Rebecca Caudill titles. 

Caldecott Medal Books

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Newbery Award Winning Books

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. 

Children's & YA Book Authors and Illustrators on the Web

This page is a collection of links to children's and young adult book author and illustrator web sites and pages. Some are official, others tributes or interviews. Books by many of these authors and illustrators are featured elsewhere on our web site. 

Children's Choice Book Awards

Children's Choices has been a joint project of the International Reading Association (IRA) and The Children's Book Council since 1975. Publishers submit about 700 titles to be evaluated and voted on by 10,000 children. Throughout the school year, five review teams, located in different regions of the United States, work with their local classroom teachers and school librarians to incorporate the books into classroom activities.